Colombo (Sinhala: කොළඹ, pronounced [ˈkəlombo]; Tamil: கொழும்பு) is the capital, and largest city of Sri Lanka, with a population of 4.6 million metropolitan area,[2][dubious – discuss] with 555,031[1] in the city limits, and a popular tourist destination. It is located on the west coast of the island and adjacent to Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte (which is the official capital of Sri Lanka) suburb or the parliament capital of Sri Lanka. Colombo is also the administrative capital of Western Province, Sri Lanka and the district capital of Colombo District. Colombo is often referred to as the capital since Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte is a satellite city of Colombo. Colombo is a busy and vibrant place with a mixture of modern life and colonial buildings and ruins[3] It was the political capital of Sri Lanka, before Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte.



Post a Comment

Back to top!