The whole area was from at least 1401 a royal estate known as Ibstrup (the earliest sources refer to it as Jepstorp). The nearest village was Mellerup located midway between Ibstrup and Ordrup. Its land came under Ibstrup when it disappeared in the middle of the 17th century.
The Ibstrup estate was since Queen Margaret's day used for royal hunts, although King Frederick II was the first to establish a royal residence at the site. In 1611, Christian IV replaced it with a new building, Ibstrup Slot, in Dutch Renaissance style surrounded by moats. King Frederick III gave the property to his consort, Queen Sophie Amalie.